Finding Nemo!

First off, I know that I have been a terrible blogger lately but I actually have a good reason: I have been on vacation! This week is my spring break and because of that I have been pretty AWOL. So, I will play catch up in the next few days telling you about all of my AWESOME adventures like going to Petra and now being in Aqaba! But, I’m going to start with Aqaba and then move backwards when I can upload some photos!
There are few things that can rival the beauty of Jordan and especially Aqaba! I arrived in Aqaba the other morning and decided that I wanted to go scuba diving and so I convinced (it was so easy) my friends that we should go as soon as possible!  We arranged it with the front desk after checking in 6 hours early (we got there at 9 am and check in was at 3 pm lol thank god we were girls!) and we were soon on our way. They picked us up in a really nice car and drove us around 40 min to the other side of the Red Sea where the best diving in Aqaba is. They had us fill out a bunch of paperwork, discuss health conditions, and experience that we might have. Mom and dad you’ll kill me for this but I didn’t tell them about any of my health things like passing out and totally told them that I had been diving before…but hey, it paid off!!! I was in the water in no time and had everything figured out within 5 min and was asking to go deeper and deeper as some of my friends struggled to figure out how to breath correctly and adjust their ears for the change in pressure.
Regardless, it was amazing!!! We spent about an hour down there just exploring the reef and the amazing fish and sharks that reside there. It was enchanting. Because I figured it out pretty quickly they let me go and do my own thing, going deeper and such, as long as I could still see them. Just exploring the reef and seeing the amazing lion fish with all of its phalanges radiating off of it and of course the clown fish (finding nemo!!) was life changing.

I do have to admit that I had one slightly embarrassing problem. When you want to go deeper while scuba diving all you do is press a button to basically deflate the vest you’re wearing and such and sometimes they’ll put like one more little weight into the weight belt that you’re already wearing. Well, for me it was a bit different. By the end of the dive I had, not only my weight belt, but also 5/6 additional weights in my little pouches because apparently my boobs act as flotation devices. (No joke). How did we figure this out? Because when I asked to go deeper and they deflated my life vest and put a weight in and saw that it was not enough as my other friends quickly sank to the bottom, our two guides looked at each other and started laughing, underwater mind you, before loading me up with weights so I could adequately go deeper. When I asked them about this when we climbed out of the water (I almost fell backwards because of all of the weight I had!) they said that the only other time that they had to give that much weight was with another girl who was uh rather well endowed in the chest department. I died. Stupid boobs. Granted, seeing two Jordanian men struggling to explain this situation was pretty hilarious as well. Needless to say, if you have big boobs and you really like to go deep when you dive, wear two weight belts before you even get in the water!

Leave a comment